Alex Brown

Grammy-nominated pianist and composer

Grammy-nominated pianist and composer Alex Brown is quickly emerging at the forefront of a new generation of artists.  The New York Times says he plays “with a crystalline touch and a worldly approach.”  Brown frequently performs with his own group, and Downbeat Magazine described his 2010 album Pianist as “a really fine record that leaves you wanting more.”  Brown has been a member of Paquito D’Rivera’s ensemble since 2007, performing on and contributing arrangements to their Latin Grammy award-winning album Jazz Meets the Classics.  He also performed on and was the principal arranger for their recently released album Paquito and Manzanero.  Brown collaborates frequently with vibraphonist Warren Wolf, steel pan virtuoso Victor Provost and the classical wind quintet Imani Winds.  In 2016, he performed Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue as a soloist with the Orquesta Symphonica de Mineria led by conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto in Mexico City.  Brown has performed in many of the world’s greatest venues including Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City, the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC, and the Palacio de Bellas Artes in Mexico City.  As an arranger and orchestrator, he has had music performed by premier groups that include the Philadelphia Orchestra.  Brown earned his bachelor of music degree from New England Conservatory of Music.  He is currently pursuing a Masters degree in composition at the University of Miami’s Frost School of Music.  Brown is a YAMAHA artist and resides in New York City.



  • Victor Provost “Bright Eyes” (2017)

  • Paquito D’Rivera “Paquito & Manzanero” (2016)

  • Miho Hazama “Time River” (2015)

  • Jeff Scott "The Gift of Life - The Urban Classical Music Project, Vol. 1" (2015)

  • Paquito D’Rivera “Jazz Meets the Classics” (2014) - Winner of Latin GRAMMY Award

  • Omar Thomas Large Ensemble “I Am” (2013)

  • Alex Brown “Pianist” (2010)

  • Alondra de la Parra / Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas “Mi Alma Mexicana / My Mexican Soul” (2010)

  • Imani Winds “Terra Incognita” (2010)

  • Paquito D’Rivera and Sabine Meyer “Jazz Clazz” (2009) - Received GRAMMY Nomination

Copyright 2017 Alex Brown